Of poetry and blogs

Poetry is not dead, not yet, not ever.

My name is Antonella and I am a activist on the defence of several topics, amongst which poetry is included. As Mr. Keatin taught us: “We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race. And the human race is filled with passion. And medicine, law, business, engineering, these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.” (Dead Poets Society, 1989). Hardly can there be found a better defense to poetry and I will not yet try to improve it.

I have been reading for as long as I can remember, so I don’t remember the first poem I read. I remember, however, the first poem I memorized, when I was nine. I liked it so much, I decided it was about time for me to learn at least one poem by heart, and this one was short and deeply meaningful.

“¿Qué es poesía? Preguntas mientras clavas

en mi pupila tu pupila azul.

¿Qué es poesía? ¿Y tú me lo preguntas?

Poesía… eres tú.”

(“What’s poetry? You ask as you fix in my pupil your blue pupil. What’s poetry? And you ask me? Poetry… is you”). 

I didn’t even knew who Bécquer was or how much I would get to love him later in life, but that poem captured my heart forever to the wonders of the most beautiful, passionate and inspiring literature ever created. Learning about the Romantics was one of the happiest moments of my teenage years and probably of my life. Breaking whatever notion of “aesthetics” I was taught since childhood to discover the wonders of modern art and poetry was enlightening and touching. I am a writer but I cannot, no matter how hard I try, write poetry – that only makes me like it better.

So poetry is not dead, and, for as long as I live, I will make sure it stays that way.

Do you need proof? Take a look at this blog. I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy writing it.

Antonella

P.S.: here is a link to my current favourite poem, in Spanish as well.

2 thoughts on “Of poetry and blogs

Leave a Reply

